By October 17, 2008 Read More →

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Alaska

My boyfriend is Russian by citizen. He is lives in Alaska on a student visa. He also has Alaska driver’s license. But what worries me is that he doesn’t have auto insurance coverage on the car that he is using. What would be the penalties if a non-US resident is caught driving without auto insurance in Anchorage, Alaska?

Carmen

The state of Alaska requires its resident to maintain financial responsibility on all the cars they are using. This insures that all vehicles being driven and operated on the streets of Alaska to be financially responsible to pay for any damages that might be incurred if an accident happened. The minimum required limits in Alaska is $50,000.00/injury or death/ person; $100,000.00/accident; and is $25,000.00 to cover for damages to property.

If your boyfriend is caught driving without auto insurance then the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) would suspend his license. This suspension can be from 90 days to 12 months which also depends on previous license actions. If your boyfriend is involved in an accident and he is not the at-fault party, his driver’s license will still be suspended.

As to your question regarding the implication of the violation with his being a non-US resident, I would suggest you ask the U.S. Department of Homeland Security or the US Customs and Border Patrol (CBP). However, before anything like this happens, the best way to avoid this is to get auto insurance now. Contact your auto insurance agent in Anchorage, Alaska to give you car insurance rates or use our website now.

Comments are closed.